NAWCO® announced earlier this month that they will now be offering a new wound care certification – the AWCC®. The AWCC®, or Advanced Wound Care Certification, was created by NAWCO® to help existing wound care certified professionals expand their wound care mastery.

AWCC® certification advanced wound care certification

Advanced Wound Care Certified AWCC® Information

  • $380 exam application fee
  • 100 Questions
  • Offered by NAWCO®
  • Five year certification
  • RN, LPN, LVN, NP, PA, PT, PTA, OT, OTA, MD, DO, and DPMs with previous wound certification can be eligible (previous certifications can include WCC®, CWCA®, CWS®, CWSP®, CWCN®, or CWON®)
  • One of the newest wound certifications available (Sept 2019)

How does the AWCC® Differ from the WCC®?

The WCC® tests healthcare professionals on broad wound care concepts and wound management. The AWCC® is designed to test more specific wound management techniques/knowledge, includingnegative pressure wound therapy (NPWT), biologic skin equivalents, and hyperbaric oxygen treatment.

At this time, the AWCC® is not an accredited wound care certification, partly because the certification is still in its infancy. The WCC®, however, IS an accredited NAWCO® wound care certification.

The AWCC® is valid for 5 years, similar to the WCC®.

Who is Eligible for the AWCC®?

Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical/ Vocational Nurses, Nurse Practitioners, Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants, Occupational Therapists, Occupational Therapy Assistants, Doctors of Podiatric Medicine, Physicians and Physician Assistants can all work towards becoming AWCC® certified.

Unlike most wound certifications, the AWCC® certification requires candidates to have a previous wound care certification – this includes a WCC®, CWCA®, CWCN®, CWS®, CWSP®, CWON®, or CWOCN® certification.

How Much Does the AWCC® Certification Cost?

The cost of the AWCC® exam and associated fees is $380.

More About the AWCC®

The AWCC® exam is comprised of 100 questions. Unlike the ABWM® certifications, all 100 questions are graded. Candidates have two hours to complete the exam.

Preparing for the AWCC® Exam

Our online courses provide AWCC candidates with 50-60 CE hours. Healthcare professionals interested in pursuing their AWCC can benefit from using our advanced wound care courses to help pass their AWCC® exam.

Other AWCC® Resources

AWCC® Handbook