LPN Continuing Education
Are you looking for ways to earn CE hours online? Do you need a flexible CE schedule? WoundEducators’ courses are approved for continuing education hours!
While many LPNs use our courses to help prepare for wound certification, many others use our wound care courses for the continuing education credits the courses provide.
Upon completion of the LPN online wound care course, WoundEducators will reward you with 50 CE hours. These can be used towards your required CE hours per renewal period.
More CE Hours for Your Investment
Here at WoundEducators, we believe the student comes first. This is why we offer more CE hours per dollar spent than any other wound care certification provider! Our course offers enough CE hours to satisfy every state’s LPN continuing education requirements.
More LPN Course Benefits
In addition to maximizing your CE credits, there are many other reasons to choose WoundEducators for your LPN continuing education. Other benefits of choosing WoundEducators include:
● 100% online CE course
● Access from any device
● Six months’ course access
● Home study kit
● Course completion certificate
● Until You Pass guarantee
● 24/7 Support
Our LPN Wound Certification Course will take approximately 50 hours to complete. Each LPN is given six months to complete the course, which allows you to go at your own pace. Our courses are easy to follow and include many different learning methods and plenty of videos. You can do
as little as 2.5 hours per week and still complete your wound care course on time. The pace is completely up to you!
Continuing Education for Nurses
Many people forget the differences between CE hours and CEUs. Typically, one CEU is equivalent to 10 contact hours. Below is a quick reference to see how many CE hours each state requires. The number of CE hours/CEUs needed for LPN license renewal varies by state. For the most up-to-date information, always check your local state board.
LPN Continuing Education State Requirements
- Alabama – 24 every 2 years, including 4 contact hours
- Alaska – 2/3 of the following: 30 contact hours, 60 hours of professional nursing activities, or 320 hours of nursing employment.
- Arkansas – 15 contact hours every 2 years or completion of a recognized academic course like WoundEducators
- California – 30 contact hours every 2 years
- Delaware – 24 contact hours every 2 years*
- Florida – 24 hours every renewal period*
- Georgia – 20 hours
- Hawaii – 30 hours
- Idaho – Biennial – Two of the following: current nursing specialty certification, 100 practice hours, completion of a board-recognized refresher course like WoundEducator; see Idaho Board of Nursing for full details https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title54/T54CH14/
- Illinois – 20 hours every 2 years
- Iowa – 36 contact hours for three-year license renewal
- Kansas – 30 contact hours every 2 years
- Kentucky – 14 contact hours
- Louisiana – depends on the employer
- Massachusetts -15 contact hours every 2 years
- Michigan – 25 hours within 2 years*
- Minnesota – 12 contact hours every 2 years
- Mississippi – 20 contact hours every 2 years
- Montana – 24 contact hours every 2 years
- Nebraska – 20 hours every 2 years
- Nevada – 30 hours every 2 years*
- New Hampshire – 30 in the 2 years preceding licensure
- New Jersey – 30 CE hours in the 2 years preceding licensure
- New Mexico – 30 CE hours in the 2 years preceding licensure
- New York – 3 contact hours of infection control every 4 years
- North Carolina – 30 contact hours or a board-approved refresher course
- North Dakota – 12 contact hours per year
- Ohio – 24 hours every 2 years
- Oklahoma- 24 hours every 2 years*
- Oregon – 13 hours within the first year of licensure*
- Pennsylvania – 2 hours every year*
- Rhode Island – 10 hours every 2 years*
- South Carolina – 30 contact hours every 2 years or a board-approved study program
- Texas – 20 hours every 2 years *
- Utah – 30 hours/200 practice hours OR 15hours/400 practice hours every 2 years
- Virginia – 30 hours or refresher course
- Washington DC – 18 hours every 2 years*
- Washington – 45 hours and 531 working hours every 3 years
- West Virginia – 20 contact hours and 400 working hours every 2 years*
- Wyoming – 20 hours every 2 years
* = States that mandate hours in certain required topics.
List updated Oct 2019.
What About the States Not Listed Above?
States that do not require LPNs to complete continuing education hours are Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Missouri, Wisconsin, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Vermont.
Choose WoundEducators for LPN Continuing Education
If you have a passion for wound care and are looking for a flexible way to gain CE hours, WoundEducators is your best choice. Our LPN wound care course will help you distinguish yourself among your peers while still satisfying your LPN continuing education requirements. If you are an RN or CNA, you can still use WoundEducators for continuing education – Browse our full course offerings.
WoundEducators.com courses were approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider #17074. Accreditation Information
LPN Continuing Education & Renewal Requirements: Nurse.org